Learning a new way to learn!

 

It was with much trepidation that I embarked on this journey to re-enter the college world and take on the challenge of attaining my Master’s degree in Education.  This first course has already opened my eyes to the vast changes, challenges, and hopes for what the future of education can be.  Being able to apply my knowledge in my work life, and also the examples I have of my own children’s current experiences in their school life, has been invaluable to me as I begin this journey.

As  I reflect on Unit’s 1-4, I can honestly say that the assignments have provoked a lot of thought and have stretched my own thinking of the delivery of education to students.  From the exercise of the mind map to watching the video of Wesch’s , “A Vision of Student’s Today” and Marc Prensky’s  reading,”Our Brains Extended”, I have had my eyes opened to a new way of thinking.  In fact, Prensky (2013) said it best when he states, “Technology, rather, is an extension of our brains; it’s a new way of thinking” (para. 4).   I now have the beginnings of a vision of change for my program that includes ideas like makerspaces, 3D printers, virtual learning, and BYOD.  Some of these are ideakids and tech pics I never would have envisioned without this class.

One of the articles that I most enjoyed was Basaghian’s “Three Trends that will Shape the Future of Curriculum”.  She states, “What we as adults experienced in school, as educators and students, will bear little resemblance to what lies ahead” (para. 1).  The idea of tailoring what children learn by basing on their interests is so obvious, yet it is rarely done.  There is a prescribed curriculum that each student must march through before being pushed onto the next grade.  I love the idea of student driven interests being the basis of the curriculum combined with Prensky’s idea of the new curriculum being based on the three crucial areas of study being effective teaching, effective action and effective relationships (Prensky, 2013).  What would our classroom, virtual or real, look like then?  Awesome to ponder, and I will keep pondering throughout my journey at Post and hope to take whatever I come away with and apply to the work I do for children and families.

Reference:

Barseghian, T. (2011, Feb 4) Three trends that will shape the future of curriculum.

Prensky, M., (2013) Our Brains Extended. Educational Leadership, 70(6) 22-27.

 

kids and media

Leave a Reply

